Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Image

Yep, that’s me proudly wearing my medal after the Pride 10km Run yesterday in Victoria Park, Hackney

Yesterday I woke up a bit wary on how the day/run would pan out. It was bright, sunny and a bit too warm for me but I headed to the park with plenty of time to put my bag in baggage storage and then decided to take some time to chill out before the race by sitting in the grass and soaking up the atmosphere.

The run itself consists of 3 laps around Victoria Park, which is a leafy park in Hackney, east London. I only wish I lived closer to it as I would love to have it as a backdrop for my training runs. It took me two buses and just over an hour to get there but that was because I headed off early, otherwise I think it would be nearer to the hour and a half it took me to get home.

I ran this race 2 years ago and after finishing yesterday I’m definitely going to sign up to do it again next year. It’s not oversubscribed and once you start getting into your running stride you don’t feel like your held back by throngs of people and there are plenty of people along the route offering you words of encouragement and support.

Two years ago I ran the race in 57:47 minutes and I was pleased with that at the time. But as some of you know I had given up on trying to get under 50 minutes and was now aiming to go under 54 minutes. Well the preliminary results are out and there are two numbers: first the gun time which is 53:33 and the chip time – wait for it, wait for it 53:00 minutes. I can’t believe it and all I can say is WOW!!!

The results should be finalised sometime mid week so I will update you if they change but I’ll take either one of those times!

