Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last week was my first week back at work after a week off work with suspected gastritis or a possible ulcer. It was good to be back among the members and my colleagues. I really did miss them all. It’s horrible when you have a week off due to illness, a holiday great, but not illness! There was genuine concern for my well being both from my colleagues and a few members asked if I was now okay. It was also my birthday so it was a great week!!! I realise now more than ever that working as a Fitness Instructor is what I’m supposed to do and I really do enjoy it, it’s just a shame about the pay!!

http://runkeeper.com/user/aslaskey/activity/121281576

Anyway, my other news is that I’ve started running again and I started out with a nice, easy run of 4 miles followed by a 3+ mile walk. I walked at quite a brisk pace and I feel these are just as important as putting the runs in if you can as not everyone is able to run. Keeping the body moving is what I say and it all releases serotonin which makes us feel happy. It what’s I call a ‘legal high’ and a healthy one.

http://runkeeper.com/user/aslaskey/activity/121287212

I walked at quite a brisk pace and I feel these are just as important as putting the runs in if you can as not everyone is able to run.

http://runkeeper.com/user/aslaskey/activity/121574683

Today, I woke up early (before 7am) and decided I’d put on my running clothes and get out there for a long run. I wanted to test myself and run the furthest I’d ran since my half marathon way back in February. I have to say the first couple of miles were hard as I used the same route I used to train for the Brighton Half Marathon in February which consists of quite an incline around mile 3-4 and it’s quite undulating until about mile 8 when it flattens out, well undulating to me who likes to run on flat ground. Anyway, I managed it and did 11 miles I’m so pleased with myself. I think I’ll make that my Sunday run from now on.

Tomorrow I star Jury Service. Yep, my sister has warned me about this and advised me to take some books and magazines to keep me from getting bored. Apparently I could be waiting for a while to hear my name called for a case. In face I could come back day after day and not get called to sit in on a jury. It’s awful but I just hope it’s interesting and I’m not bored out my skull nor fall asleep. So work’s off the menu until I do my public duty.

I hope to fit in some short runs in the evening but I guess we’ll have to wait and see!

