Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

pinch, punch first day of the month – no returns!

Until I went into my runkeeper app to copy and paste the above run I didn’t realise it was the 1st of September.  Wow, where has the year gone and yet I knew next week is the 8th and I’m running ‘Run to the Beat‘, crazy eh?

Today was probably my last training run before said race and it was a relatively slow one but I was trying not to focus on times but clocking the miles.  It’s hard sometimes cos the competitive side of me always wants to go faster but I just didn’t have it today.  That might well be because I was in bed most of yesterday with a dodgy tummy, something I ate the day before we think.

I read somewhere this week and I’m not sure where that you should not wear the same running shoes all the time and I found that really strange as I always try to wear the same shoes for my runs as I intend to use on race day.  Albeit that didn’t happen when I went all the way up to Newcastle for the Great North Run on National Express only to realise just before we got off the bus that I hadn’t packed my trainers, OMG!!! We set off around Newcastle town centre like a pair of loons trying to find some trainers that I could use for the run.  Low and behold we found a pair in a JD Sports or Sports Direct and they ended up being fine and I didn’t get any blisters, which was amazing!

I’m off for a cuppa and a bowl of porridge and then some catch up time with my dad later today.  I hope you all have a lovely day and I’ll update you when I can next week after the race.

PS: just when I was running out of steam this song came on my running playlist so I put it on repeat for the last couple of miles, god bless them boys!

