Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Maybe trying too hard…

I thought I’d update those who are interested in my training for the Steyning Stinger Marathon in Steyning, West Sussex in March 2014.

I saw this event on the runnersworld.co.uk website and tried to apply online however I was not able to so  I got in touch with the organisers via email and they got back in touch with me within an hour!  Although the event is advertised for online entries the ballot is not opening up until the 1st December.

In the meantime I chose a training programme through my.asics.co.uk and boy am I finding it hard. It’s not the distances as much as I’m not sure that I am supposed to run 4 times a week.  It may well be that it will become easier in time but my legs feel very heavy and everything I’ve read about tired legs seems to indicate that you’re training too hard.  I’m now on the second week of ‘Phase 2: Getting Faster’ stage which consists of 20 runs totaling 101 miles over 6 weeks.

Nutritionally I know I need to up my carbs and I did invest in the High 5 Banana Energy Gel Sachets and they are working a treat!  For me they are not too thick nor sickly and I just take them before I start on my journey, though I probably should try to consume them on my runs to simulate race day.

Although like I’ve mentioned training has been hard I will not give up.  I’ve got far too many people in my  head whilst running encouraging me to keep on going 🙂

