Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’m going to go for it!

I’ve been following the running schedule from my.asics.com for running a full marathon by 2nd March.  Now having said that I’d enter the Steyning Stinger Marathon in March 2014 I have since spoken to my father-in-law who happens to live near the area and is a seasoned pro (19 marathons) and my mum (6 marathons).  He has informed me that it is as I thought, rather hilly.  Part of the run is over the South Downs in West Sussex.

Funny thing is it only confirmed what I already knew as it is described as an undulating and hilly course so it’s not such a big surprise just a mighty challenge for someone who prefers to run on flat surfaces and who does’t have any hills to train on.  It will be tough but I’ve decided to give it a go and so have signed up today via runnersworld.co.uk.  I’m really quite excited and know that with support, encouragement and injury free training I’m sure I’ll get through it.  I really couldn’t care how long it takes just as long as I finish.  My son has already said “mum if you can’t run anymore just walk it real fast!”.

So there you go the first race on my calendar for next year is a full marathon over terrain that I’m not familiar with but oh well.  It’s a challenge and I relish it!

