Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Update on my progress..

This week has been a mix bag. Since my run last week I’ve missed two scheduled runs.  I was felt exhausted on Tuesday so missed the 3 mile run and opted to do Wednesday’s 5 mile (fast) run instead.  All went well and on Friday I was scheduled again to do a 5 mile run (fast) however that morning I attended the doctors for a steroid injection and boy was I not looking forward to that!

I had one approximately 7 months ago when I started to get pain in the base of my thumb on my left hand.  The pain had started progressively to the point I ended up using a sling and no amount of ibruprofen or paracetamol was helping so I sought help from the GP. He suggested it was caused from repetitive stress and offered me a steroid injection.  The pain of that injection was something else and so when I started to have this same pain again about a month ago I knew there was only one choice for it.  Yep an injection because although it initially hurts it does do the job.  Anyway, of all things I started to develop tennis elbow in my right elbow.  I have been trying resting, though that’s hard as I am right handed. Lifting, holding just plain movement by the end of the day was excrutiating.  I started out with a small pain in my elbow joint then it radiated down to a pain in my forearm which had me afraid to try and lift anything. It just wasn’t worth it.  So the GP offered me an injection in the elbow as well as the one in my hand. OMG the hand settled by the night but the arm was still hurting yesterday.  It has finally settled and I can feel the difference.  I feel like a new WOMAN!

Whilst I was at the GP I happened to mention that I had a problem with lightheadness and he suggested that maybe I was not getting enough iron in my diet and he is probably right. He suggested I take iron tablets, which I must remember to get. Anyhow he also suggested checking my pulse, well blow me of three readings my lowest diastolic number was 109! When I told him I was planning on going running that evening he suggested that I did not, so that scuppered my second run that week.  He asked me to take BP measurements at varying times of the day and I am to be seen again this Friday (20th) for a review.

I have been a good patient and my BP was okay this morning, so I went out for my scheduled “comfortable run” with a guide pace of 9+ to 11+ min/mile.  I am pleased with what I managed today and hope that my BP continues to behave itself. I really do think it was the thought of those painful injections which had my heart racing.

I’m hungry now I’m back from my run and thoughts have turned to toad in the hole which I haven’t in ages.  I couldn’t remember my exact recipe but found this one on allrecipes.co.uk, enjoy and I hope you all have a wonderful, relaxing day 🙂

3d6434ec-113a-4754-8ef9-3847e5dfd825

Ingredients

Serves 4

8 Pork sausages (I used beef just as nice)

1 tablespoon of vegetable oil

225gm (8oz) of plain flour

4 eggs

250ml (8fl oz) of milk

salt and pepper to taste

Method

Prep: 10 minutes       Cook: 30 minutes     Ready in:  40 minutes

  1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees C /gas mark 6.
  2. Pour the oil into the bottom of a baking dish, and arrange the sausages over it in a single layer. Bake for 10 minutes in the preheated oven.
  3. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, eggs and half of the milk until smooth. Gradually mix in the rest of the milk until a smooth batter is achieved. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Remove the sausages from the oven, and ladle the batter over them until the sausages are 3/4 covered. Return to the oven, and bake for 35 minutes, or until the centre is risen and browned.  Don’t worry if the underside seems slightly soft, as this is normal.
