Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s been a busy few months since the beginning of the New Year and I can’t believe it’s May already.  In that time I’ve had a few doctors appointments and Consultant appointments but the good news is I’m fine.  I pretty much knew that but when someone highlights a potential problem you do just get a niggling voice in the back of your mind, suppose I’m not.

Anyway, blood pressure maybe on the rise but that is due to my strong family history of hypertension and there is not too much I can do about that.  I exercise, eat healthily and am not overweight.  I’ve just got to keep an eye on it and my GP will potentially intervene with the possibility of medication once it hits a certain level consistently.  For now I’m definitely hypertensive but not so much that warrants medication.  My heart’s fine, as I knew it was.  My bradycardia is a byproduct of my running and fitness.  Which I guess is good!

I’ve signed up for quite a few runs this year and I’m super excited, starting with the BUPA London 10km which happens on Sunday May 25th.  This will be the 3rd time I’ve done this race and I love it.   It takes in the lovely sites of the capital including Admiralty Arch, Nelson’s Column, Leadenhall Market, Millenium Bridge etc.  It really is lovely and I always find myself chugging along looking around like a tourist, lol.

My next run after that is my first half marathon of the year, Run Hackney, and it’s a new one on the race calendar.  It takes place on Sunday 22nd June and I saw the advertisement for this one in the free Metro paper and the description drew me in.  It’s supposed to be a flat course and takes in some sites of Hackney (where I was born).  Runners pass by the famous Hackney Empire, Broadway Market and we run alongside London Fields.  This one was especially special to me as my dad doesn’t live too far from this venue so maybe, fingers crossed, he’ll come out and see his girl running.

After that I go and run with a dear friend of ours in for a Race for London 10km in Southampton on Sunday 6th July.  Now I try and run a Cancer Research UK Race for Life every year as it’s for such a good cause and the unfortunate fact is 1 in 3 will face it at sometime in our life. Whether it be personally or through a family member or friend.

Now the last one I’ve officially signed up for is the BUPA Great North Run on Sunday 7th September which is the biggest half marathon in the world!  Last time I did this was in 2009 and again it’s one of those you just have to do.  The atmosphere alone is worth the entry fee.  No matter what the weather is it is always well supported.  You feel the crowd urging you on. In fact pulling you along!  Did I forget to say that I’m doing both the BUPA London 10km and the BUPA Great North Run with my son.  The first time I’ll be running with him and I can’t wait.

I’m tempted to sign up for the Pride 10km in Hackney, Victoria Park which I think is in August this year but I haven’t as of yet.

It’s just great to be out there and running again and feeling great 🙂

 

